Moshi Co-operative University

Moshi Co-operative University (MoCU) is a result of upgrading the former Moshi University College of Co-operative and Business Studies (MUCCoBS) into a full-fledged University. The upgrading of MUCCoBS to a full university status was formally approved by the Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) at its 64th Meeting held on the 3rd July, 2014 and officially declared by the Government on the 4th September, 2014.

Transformation of the Moshi Co-operative University

The history of this University dates way back to 5th January, 1963 when the then Co-operative College Moshi was established. The College's primary responsibility was training of human resources in the co-operative sector under the then Ministry of Co-operatives and Community Development. The College was subsequently established through the Co-operative College Act No. 32 (Repealed) of 1964 as an autonomous institution with its own Governing Board.
In 2004, the Co-operative College Moshi was transformed into Moshi University College of Co-operative and Business Studies (MUCCoBS) as the Constituent University College of Sokoine University of Agriculture through the Government Declaration Order No. 22 of 2004. In 2014, MUCCoBS was upgraded into full-fledged University.

Programmes Offered

MoCU offers different academic programmes ranging from certificates to postgraduate levels. Most of the undergraduate programmes have corresponding programmes at the postgraduate levels. Some programmes are residential and on full-time basis. Others, however, are offered in the evening or through distance learning. It also provides professional programmes in co-operative financial services in addition to outreach programmes.

MoCU Expertise

Over the years, the University has turned out experts in co-operative development and management, accounting and auditing, procurement, marketing, finance, banking and microfinance, community development and various other disciplines. Graduates in these disciplines have successfully secured various employment opportunities within and outside Tanzania, or established their own business enterprises.

Faculties and Directorate

The faculties are Faculty of Cooperative and Community Development (FCCD) and Faculty of Business and Information Sciences (FBIS). The academic directorates are the Directorate of Research and Postgraduate Studies (DRPS), Directorate of Consultancy Services (DCS) and the Directorate of National Cooperative Library and Archives (DNCLA). The administrative directorates are the Directorate of Planning, Finance and Development (DPF) and the Directorate of Human Resource Development and Administration (DHRMA). Furthermore, there is the Institute of Continuing Cooperative Development and Education (ICCE) and Cooperative Entrepreneurship and Innovation Centre.